After an almost four-decade wait, Trabzonspor finally won the Turkish league

Trabzonspor were declared Turkish league winners for the first time in 38 years on Saturday, igniting wild celebrations among the stadium’s tens of thousands of supporters.

They won the championship with a 2-2 draw against Antalyaspor, putting them nine points ahead of second-placed Fenerbahce with three rounds of games remaining.

Trabzonspor had a quick start, with Danish striker Andreas Cornelius putting them ahead after three minutes, but Antalyaspor equalized in the 51st minute.

However, just over the hour mark, the champions-elect took the lead for the second time via Turkey international Dorukhan Tokoz, only to surrender again 10 minutes later.

However, the argument was made since Trabzonspor has a superior head-to-head record than Fenerbahce and cannot be caught.

Istanbul teams Galatasaray, Fenerbahce, and Besiktas have dominated domestically for decades, capturing 57 of the 65 Super League championships on offer.

Trabzonspor were the first team to break the three large Istanbul clubs’ grip on winning the Turkish league when they won it in 1975-1976.

That began a run of dominance in which they won five straight championships before adding another in 1983-1984, giving them the moniker “The Black Sea Storm.”

“The previous trophy was won long before I was born,” said Abdulkadir Omur, a 22-year-old central midfielder.

“It had been a lifelong ambition. I couldn’t be happier.”

The team has gone close to winning the championship again on various times, most notably in the 2010-2011 season, but the supporters’ desire for another league trophy has been unfulfilled until now.

Leave a Reply