Ballon d’Or 2022: Complete list of men’s and women’s nominees

Soon, two of the game’s best players will lift one of the sport’s most coveted trophies: the Ballon d’Or.

The Ballon d’Or, presented by France Football, honors the players who had the most successful season prior to the start of the new calendar year.

Lionel Messi won the award in 2019 and 2021 (2020 was canceled due to COVID-19), but he did not make the 30-man roster this year.

Here are the 30 men and 20 women nominated for the Ballon d’Or in 2022:

Who are the Ballon d’Or nominees for 2022?

Without Messi and other big names like Neymar Jr., here are the 30 men who have a chance to win the award:

Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema

Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne

Paris Saint-Kylian Germain’s Mbappé

Manchester City’s Erling Haaland (played with Borussia Dortmund last season)

FC Barcelona’s Robert Lewandowski (played with Bayern Munich last season)

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah

Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mané (played for Liverpool last season)

Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk

Real Madrid’s Luka Modri

Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois

Real Madrid’s Casemiro

Bayern Munich’s Joshua Kimmich

Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane

Real Madrid’s Vinicius Jr.

Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold

Manchester City’s Joo Cancelo

Manchester City’s Phil Foden

Manchester City’s Riyad Mahrez

Real Madrid’s Antonio Rüdiger (played for Chelsea last season)

Liverpool’s Fabinho

Liverpool’s Luis Daz

AC Milan’s Mike Maignan

Borussia Dortmund’s Sébastien Haller (played for AFC Ajax last season)

AC Milan’s Rafael Leo

Darwin Nez of Liverpool (played for S.L. Benfica last season)

RB Leipzig’s Christopher Nkunku

Manchester City’s Bernardo Silva

Tottenham Hotspur’s Son Heung-min

Juventus’ Duan Vlahovi

Who are the Ballon d’Or Féminin nominees for 2022?

Alexia Putellas of FC Barcelona won the third-ever Ballon d’Or Féminin award last year, and she’s on this year’s 20-woman shortlist. Ada Hegerberg, the first Féminin award winner in 2018, was also included. Here is the complete list:

FC Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas

Lyon, Ada Hegerberg

Lyon, Selma Bacha

Arsenal’s Beth Mead

San Diego Wave’s Alex Morgan (was a member of the Orlando Pride last season)

VfL Wolfsburg’s Lena Oberdorf

VfL Wolfsburg’s Alexandra Popp

FC Barcelona’s Asisat Oshoala

Lyon’s Wendie Renard

Washington Spirit’s Trinity Rodman

FC Barcelona’s Lucy Bronze (played for Manchester City last season)

Chelsea, Millie Bright

FC Barcelona’s Aitana Bonmat

Paris Saint-Kadidiatou Germain’s Diani

FC Barcelona’s Fridolina Rolfö

Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema

Chelsea, Sam Kerr

Lyon, Catarina Macario

Lyon’s Christiane Endler

Paris Saint-Marie-Antoinette Germain’s Katoto

Who has received the most Ballon d’Ors?

Messi leads the way with seven victories. Ronaldo has the most nominations (18) and has won the award five times.

Who has received the most Ballon d’Or Féminins?

The Féminin category debuted in 2018 and has had a new winner every year since, with the exception of 2020, when it was canceled. Previous winners are listed below:

Ada Hegerberg in 2018

Megan Rapinoe in 2019

Alexia Putellas in 2021

Leave a Reply