Penalty shootout gives Liverpool the Carabao Cup title

Liverpool won the English League Cup for the ninth time by beating Chelsea on penalties (11-10) after the original and extra time ended in a scoreless draw at Wembley Stadium on Sunday.

Liverpool held the record for the most titles in the competition, taking their tally to nine, one more than their former partner Manchester City, who have won them in the last three years, and their first in the competition since 2012.

Liverpool have thus laid the groundwork for an exceptional quadruple in a season as they remain fiercely competitive in the Premier League and look well placed to reach the quarter-finals of the Champions League after beating Inter 2-0 and reaching the fifth round of the England FA cup

Leave a Reply